UPDATE: JUDGE EKONOMOU POSTPONES HEARING ON SAMARAS LAWSUIT


*A BIG THANK YOU TO JUDGE ALEXANDROS EKONOMOU AND OTHERS LARISA LAWYERS FOR THEIR HELP IN POSTPONING THE HEARING ON THE SAMARAS LAWSUIT

I have just been told Larisa Civil Court First President and Judge Alexandros Ekonomou has postponed the hearing on the lawsuit of Simos Samaras until March 1st 2016.

After I left his office, Judge Ekonomou contacted the English speaking lawyer who had advised me the previous day and asked him to come to  the court to give a written declaration that he was on strike. The lawyer did this, and the hearing was then postponed by Judge Ekonomou.

I have removed my previous posts on this subject today since these have proved to be factually incorrect in the light of new information I have just received. Judge Ekonomou has acted fairly and professionally.

I would like to thank judge Ekonomou, the lawyer as well as the President of the Larisa bar association who helped me to postpone the hearing last week.

The nationwide lawyer’s strike is set to continue for at least another week, but it could be extended for longer. Lawyer’s associations are due to meet in Athens on Friday to decide on their course of action.

I personally sympathize with the strike action of the lawyers, farmers and other groups facing ruin if Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras manages to pass new laws envisaging crushing new taxes and social security contributions.

 

 

 

Comments are closed.

