Anyone in the world can sign petition for a second referendum


Confession. I have just signed the petition for a second EU referendum along with 4 million others. Yes, it’s true. I couldn’t resist checking it out and clicked on the petition link featured at the bottom of an Austrian state TV report…

https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/131215

I ticked the box saying I am a British citizen or UK resident although I am neither and put in a post code. And hey presto, I was sent a link to my email which I just had to click on to complete the signing process.

Now, I omitted that final step. But it just goes to show you how easy it is to sign the petition asking for a second EU referendum. In fact, half of Germany or Austria, for example, could sign it, underlining that it by no means reflects UK public opinion.

email

 

 

Comments are closed.

