My summer in Norway three years ago suggests the country is not as free as King Harald claims


A speech by Globalist royalty King Harald of Norway has stirred controversy after he claimed Norway is especially free because every migrant from Afghanistan to Somalia can go there.

Sorry, Norway is not free at all, and I speak from first hand experience.

Readers of this blog may not know that I spent three whole weeks in Sjoholt in the summer of 2013.

And I can tell you that Norwegians are not allowed to do one thing. That is, pay in cash or exceed the speed limit of 80 kilometres an hour or drink a drop of alcohol.

Fate placed me in the absolutely beautiful location of Geiranger Fjord. Breath taking scenary. I had a little beach hut all to myself to work on my books. It was bliss. Big thanks to my hosts, by the way. I can tell you I loved to look out at the glimmering deep blue waters surrounded by towering mountains wrapped in mist on either side, and the ships sailing by in the distance… And I loved eating the freshest Salmon you could ever dream of covered in lemon sauce. But what did I have to wash down that delicious Salmon with? Beer, dear friends. Yes, beer, was the only thing that could be sold in the local supermarket. To get wine, it was necessary to drive 50 kilometres to Alesund where there was a one of the few specially licensed shops. And then, a bottle of wine cost something like 50 euros.

On top of that, everything had to be paid with using plastic money in Norway. Every trip on a ferry and in Norway, every one on the west coast has to take ferries. Plastic money. No cash allowed.

And when you drove off the ferry in the middle of the night, you had to obey the 80 kilometre speed limit enforced by ubiquitous cameras, road sensors and staggering fines even in the remotest parts of the country. The result. A tiny convoy of cars and trucks would leave a ferry at a tiny port on a fjord in the middle of nowhere and drive tail on tail  along the same motorway through empty mountains and forests at exactly the same speed of 80 kilometres an hour for hours and hours on end to get somewhere like Sjoholt. Surreal.

Freedom in Norway is selective, it seems. It is the freedom the entire  world to come to Norway but not the freedom of the Norwegians themselves to decide their own lives even in small things like how to pay, how fast to drive on deserted roads or what to drink with their salmon.

 

Comments are closed.

