NEW REVIEW OF MY CASE ORDERED BY GREECE’S SUPREME COURT AS BATTLE AGAINST CORRUPTION INTENSIFIES


*AREIOS PAGOS ORDERS LARISA PROSECUTOR TO REVIEW MY CASE YET AGAIN AS CREDITORS FOCUS ON CORRUPTION

*CORRUPTION  SINKING GREECE IS RESULT OF “POOR FUNCTIONING OF JUSTICE SYSTEM”

*BIG THANKS TO ALL THOSE WHO HELPED ME GET ANOTHER CHANCE AT JUSTICE

As Greek government officials resume talks with representatives of the country’s international creditors in Athens on Monday, the focus is on Greece’s efforts to crack down on corruption and on the creation of a new privatization fund, Finance Ministry officials said.

http://www.ekathimerini.com/211945/article/ekathimerini/news/greek-officials-to-resume-talks-with-creditors

My own experience has convinced me the number one priority in Greece has to be on getting a grip on the vast corruption by creating a functioning justice system. The country’s anti corruption Leandros Rakintzis, estimated that corruption cost the country 33 billion a year.

http://greece.greekreporter.com/2015/10/08/greek-general-inspector-corruption-costs-the-country-33-bln-euros-each-year/

But I believe it costs the country much more because it lowers standards drastically in every area. The lawyers are corrupt, the police and prosecutors, doctors and the teachers are corrupt. In fact, almost everyone who can be is corrupt with total impunity. There is no incentive to strive for excellence in a system where someone can buy a grade, a job or get a bribe for a routine service or take a bribe for throwing a case.

“There are several reasons for the corruption problem,” he explains. “It’s a legacy of being part of the Ottoman Empire and it’s a lack of regulation but mostly it’s the result of the poor functioning of the justice system. It’s very, very slow.”

https://www.ft.com/content/093939e6-cc08-11e5-be0b-b7ece4e953a0

That said, I have some good news tentatively to report on my case. The Supreme Court, Areios Pagos, has sent my case back to Larisa yet again. I was told today when I deposited a civil case with the help of a lawyer that a new prosecutor had been assigned to investigate my criminal case on 6th September 2016.

From what my lawyer gleaned (and it is early days), it seems the Areios Pagos has instructed that the new evidence I presented to them needs to be considered by the prosecutor as well as evidence of the corruption of local police and prosecutors.

In fact, I keep presenting not so much new evidence as the same old, same old evidence which keeps being removed from the file…

The prosecutor has a two month period to investigate. I will be going regularly to visit the prosecutor to ask about the progress. Specifically, I will ask whether essential witnesses like Theoktisti Emsley, who I have also called for in the civil case, and other essential witnesses I named in my original police report are finally questioned.

Readers of this blog will recall that the last time Larisa court officials sent the case to the Areios Pagos in February, it landed in the lap of the illustrious and ultimate in crooked prosecutors Efstathia Spyropoulou, involved in the Vatopedia scandal whereby the Greek Orthodox Church tried to swindle billions from the state.

http://www.hri.org/news/greek/apeen/2009/09-05-18_3.apeen.html

This same Spyropoulou set about sanctioning, at the very least, an elaborate scam whereby I was shown the police reports in the file by Kataraina Papaionnaou only to find these all removed again in the penal verdict.

The penal verdict is designed to set me up for a lethal penalty. Naturally, it was concealed from me by another firewalls of lies. I only found the verdict by an absolutely fluke series of coincidences which underlines how cunning these people are.

Spyropoulou then went on to investigate smear charges brought against the president of the Areios Pagos, Vasiliki Thanou, who seems to be at least trying to battle corruption, by notorious bankster Andreas Vgengopoulos while concealing the fact that her own son was working for his associates in a clear conflict of interest.

Anyway, there is tentative good news in my case. But let’s see what the new prosecutor achieves in the crocodile swamp of Larisa court.

 

Comments are closed.

